Homagama Techno City first phase begins tomorrow

Sep 21, 2016 – The activities of the first phase of the Techno City will begin tomorrow, September 22.This comprises five technology institutes including the National Science Centre, Satellite Centre and Technology University.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will inaugurate the first phase at the Sri Lanka Institute of Nano Technology in Mahahenawaththa in Pitipana, Homagama.

The area from Malambe to Homagama in the Western Province has been selected as the most suitable environment for the new Techno City as those regions have been identified as very crowded areas. Construction of new Techno City will commence by dividing Malambe into three technical zones and Homagama into seven technical zones.

Sri Lanka’s first class institutions in the fields of science and technology, University of Moratuwa, University of Sri Jayawardhenapura, University of Colombo, Arthur C Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies and the National Science Centre will commence their projects in the technical zone on September 22.

The Urban Development Authority (UDA) is working to grant 25 acres to each university and ten acres to each technical institution affiliated with this task.

Another 1000 acres have already indentified for the future work of this project and the UDA is currently working land acquisition. The project will be function in 1,200 acres.A four lane road from Makumbura to Uduwana junction upto the Techno City is also planned.

Source:- http://www.dailynews.lk/?q=2016/09/21/business/93598



Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password